PUTRAJAYA: The special task force to investigate Bank Negara Malaysia’s foreign exchange losses in 1990s has named its six members.

The six include Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission deputy chief commissioner Datuk Azam Baki, Bukit Aman Commercial Crimes Investigation Department director Comm Datuk Acryl Sani Abdullah San and Securities Commission chairman Tan Sri Ranjit Ajit Singh.

The others are Retirement Fund Inc (KWAP) chief executive officer Datuk Wan Kamaruzaman Wan Ahmad, Task Force to Facilitate Business (Pemudah) co-chairman Tan Sri Saw Choo Boon and senior lawyer Datuk Seri Jahaberdeen Mohamed Yunoos, who is partner in Messrs Jahaberdeen & Co.

Announcing this, task force chairman Tan Sri Mohd Sidek Hassan also named Finance Ministry strategic investment division director Datuk Dr Yusof Ismail as the task force secretary.

“Our terms of reference is to conduct preliminary investigations into losses by Bank Negara related to its speculative foreign currency transactions.

“We are to also determine whether there was action to cover up the losses and whether there was any act of giving misleading statements on the matter to Parliament,” he said Tuesday.

Mohd Sidek said the task force will also submit recommendations to the Government on further action, including the establishment of a Royal Commission of Inquiry, if necessary, based on the results of the investigations.

On Feb 22, the Cabinet appointed Mohd Sidek, who is former Chief Secretary to the Government, to head the special task force.

The issue arose after Bank Negara former assistant governor Datuk Abdul Murad Khalid claimed that the central bank lost billions of dollars in forex dealings, but there was no investigation to determine who was responsible.
Read more at http://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2017/03/14/task-force-names-six-members-to-probe-forex-losses/#6uq7VLt2zhpzudot.99